Symposium on Machine Learning in Speech and Language Processing (MLSLP)

September 14, 2012
Portland, Oregon, USA

Call for Papers and Participation

The goal of the symposium is to foster communication and collaboration between researchers in these synergistic areas, taking advantage of the nearby location of Interspeech 2012. It is the second annual meeting of the Machine Learning Special Interest Group (SIGML) of the International Speech Communication Association (ISCA). (See last year's symposium here.)


The workshop will feature both invited talks and general submissions. Submissions focusing on novel research are solicited. In addition, we especially encourage position and review papers addressing topics that are relevant to speech, machine learning, and NLP research. These areas include, but are not limited to, applications to speech/NLP of SVMs, log-linear models, neural networks, kernel methods, discriminative transforms, large-margin training, discriminative training, active/semi-supervised/unsupervised learning, structured prediction, Bayesian modeling, deep learning, and sparse representations.

Paper Submission (deadline passed)

Prospective authors are invited to submit papers written in English via the "Submissions" link to the left. Each paper will be reviewed by at least two reviewers, and each accepted paper must have at least one registered author.

Invited Speakers

Shai Ben-David, Hal Daume III, Li Deng, Inderjit Dhillon, Mark Gales, Georg Heigold, Erik McDermott, Hoifung Poon, Brian Roark, Dirk van Compernolle

Organizing Committee

Scientific Chair: Joseph Keshet TTI-Chicago
Speech Processing Chair: Karen Livescu TTI-Chicago
Natural Language Processing Chair: David Chiang University of Southern California and Information Sciences Institute
Machine Learning Chair: Fei Sha University of Southern California
Local Organization: Mark Hasegawa-Johnson University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Scientific Program Committee

John Blitzer
Hung-An Chang
Hal Daume III
Najim Dehak
Prasanta Kumar Ghosh
Brian Kingsbury
Lin-Shan Lee
Yang Liu
Pavel Matejka
Vikramjit Mitra
Patrick Nguyen
Anton Ragni
Frank Rudzicz
Tara Sainath
George Saon
Michael Seltzer
Amarnag Subramanya
Qun Feng Tan
Balakrishnan Varadarajan
Roy Wallace
Dong Yu