A little bit of background

I was born on the bayous of South Louisiana* to a musician and a mathematician. I have since lived in seven other states (Michigan, Iowa, California, Missouri, Alaska and Colorado) and four other countries (France, Sweden, England and Scotland).
I have two passports and have travelled to 5 continents, 28 countries and visited all 50 states as well as 5 of the Canadian provinces.

I grew up in the dawning era of the internet when writing bare html was cool, which is why this page has more links than Daniel's thesis.

I graduated high school in 2001 from Baton Rouge Magnet High, having worked part-time as a roller-skating carhop and a radio DJ. I then went to study physics with dash of computer science at the tiny liberal arts school Grinnell College. As a student I worked as a relay telephone operator, a deli chef, a biker bartender and a physics and CS tutor. After university, I worked for several years in London as a software engineer in biotech and oil and gas. I decided to pursue a master's degree in HPC at the University of Edinburgh, while continuing to work part-time at Ikon Science. I then went back to London to work in The City, where I lasted approximately 18 months before moving back to Edinburgh to pursue a PhD in HPC.

When I'm not programming I enjoy: climbing, cycling, hiking, playing the piano, drinking original cask single malt whisky and playing a mean game of scrabble.

I am 6'3" / 191cm. Thanks for not asking.





*the thriving metropolis of Baton Rouge