Thursday, December 20, 2007

£5M DTC Renewal

Congratulations to all those responsible for the DTC renewal.

The EPSRC/MRC funded Doctoral Training Centre (DTC) in Neuroinformatics and Computational Neuroscience offers an innovative 4 year PhD programme, unique to the UK.

The DTC is now half-way to its first century. Starting in 2002, it has already awarded some fifty studentships. The £5M of new funding just announced will support fifty more studentships—around ten new PhD entrants per annum until 2012.

The renewal follows a successful external review, the review committee commenting particularly on the excellence of the students.

Labels: , , , ,

Thursday, October 18, 2007

Google Europe Anita Borg Memorial Scholarships

Sabrina Hsueh Vera Demberg

The Google Europe Anita Borg Memorial Scholarships were awarded for the first time in Europe in 2007. Two students from Informatics@Edinburgh received awards.

180 students from 93 different universities across Europe applied. Initial selection criteria included academic performance, accomplishments within the science and technology community, letters of recommendation, and answers to four short essay questions. After two rounds of review, the committee selected 31 finalists, who were then interviewed by members of the review committee.

Twelve outstanding young women, including Sabrina Pei-Yun Hsueh, received a €5,000 Scholarship for the 2007/2008 academic year.

The remaining 19 finalists, including Vera Demberg, received a €1,000 award.

Multiple scholarships will be awarded in 2008 based on the strength of candidates' academic background and demonstrated leadership. The competition is open to women studying Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Informatics, or a closely related technical field, with an excellent academic record (e.g. a First Class Honours degree). European citizens, permanent residents, and international students, who will enter the final year of a Bachelor’s degree in 2008/2009, or be enrolled in a Master’s or PhD programme (or equivalent), at any University in Europe, are eligible to apply.

Labels: , , , , , , ,